Follow us on Facebook Youtube

 

Marché Central of Montréal : Project presentation
We received from Bentall – Kennedy, property managers for the Marche Central of Montreal, two very important mandates :  Redesign and redo 2 existing irrigation systems and more importantly, choose and implement a centrally controlled irrigation system to maximize the reduction of potable water.  Short presentation of the project, in French for now. Look

Installation of the central control package

What is a centrally controlled irrigation system? What are the possibilities? How does it work?
Here’s a quick overview, in French for now.

Look

Preliminary results for 2011

The dozen systems that were installed at Marche central gave some surprising results. These systems were installed gradually by different contractors through-out the different construction phases.  Their design and installation presented many deficiencies.

This resulted, in a terrible utilisation of potable water, expensive brakes caused by vandalism, not enough water for the precious annuals. Some entire sections were not even connected to the controllers, etc.

Results from 2011 :

1-After our involvement in the project the damages caused by vandalism were reduced dramatically.

2-For the systems that were redone to EcoBleu’s specifications, the annuals were irrigated independantly from the other zones.

We installed a water meter on one of the systems before the work started to measure the quantity of water used. We took readings in may and june prior to our modifications, and again in july and august after our modifications. The results was a savings of 63%.  This was before the installation of pipe break detection and the weather station.

We are expecting water savings to be the 80% range when installation is complete!

As for our test system, we have reduced the daily water consumption from 40,9 m3 to 15,1m3. And we still maintained healthy plants. With a flowmeter installed on each system we will be able to record exact flows for an entire season starting in 2012.

The future is looking very good!

Click here to see the press release from Marche central concerning our work in 2011, or click here to see the response concerning the Level 3 Boma BESt certification.

Suivez nous sur Facebook Youtube

 

Marché Central de Montréal : présentation du projet
Nous avons obtenu du gestionnaire du Marché Central, Bentall-Kennedy, un double mandat ÉcoBleu : refaire deux systèmes d'irrigation existants et, surtout, choisir et implanter un système de contrôle central pour diminuer au maximum l'eau potable consommée. Courte présentation du projet. Regarder

Implantation du contrôle central
Qu'est-ce qu'un système de contrôle central? Quelles sont les possibilités? Comment ça fonctionne?
Un rapide survol.
Regarder

Les résultats préliminaires pour 2011

Les douze systèmes qui sont installés au Marché Central donnaient des résultats assez décevants. Installés tout au long des différentes phases de réalisation du projet par différents entrepreneurs, leur conception et leurs installation présentaient plusieurs lacunes.

Avec comme effet, une très mauvaise utilisation de l'eau potable, des bris causés par le vandalisme vraiment "salés", les sections de prestige horticole (annuelles) qui n'ont pas assez d'eau. Des sections complètes de systèmes qui n'étaient pas branchées au programmateur, etc.

Les résultats pour 2011:

1) Après notre intervention, les bris causés par le vandalisme ont énormément diminué.

2) Pour les systèmes refaits aux normes ÉcoBleu, les annuelles sont irriguées complètement à part des autres zones.

Nous avons fait installer un compteur à eau avant les travaux sur un système témoin et avons mesuré l'eau utilisée pour mai-juin sans correctifs et juillet-août avec nos correctifs. Résultats, des économies de 63%! Même si la détection de fuites d'eau et la station météo n'étaient pas encore en fonction.

Nous envisageons des économies s'approchant facilement le 80% quand tout sera fonctionnel!

Pour le système témoin, nous sommes passés d'une consommation moyenne journalière de 40,9 m3 à 15,1 m3 ! Et les végétaux étaient en pleine santé. Avec les débitmètres installés à chaque système, nous pourrons avoir les statistiques exactes pour toute une saison à partir de 2012.

C'est très prometteur!

Cliquez ici pour voir le communiqué du Marché Central sur notre travail en 2011 et cliquez ici pour voir le communiqué à propos de l'obtention de la certification Boma BESt niveau 3.